media centre error

Golden Point Award 2017 Opens for Submission

Singapore, 28 April 2017 Golden Point Award (GPA) is back this year to search for emerging stars of literary arts. An initiative by National Arts Council (NAC) and managed by The Arts House (TAH), GPA 2017 is Singapore’s only multi-lingual national creative writing competition for Short Story and Poetry.

“The Golden Point Award is Singapore’s most important multi-lingual platform to identify and grow the pool of literary talents. Over the years, many past winners have gone on to forge a name for themselves locally and internationally. This year, we are happy to be working with The Arts House, a key literary arts centre experienced in managing such events,” says Ms May Tan, Director, Sector Development (Literary Arts) of NAC.

Writers such as Jeremy Tiang, Denon Lim Denan ( 林 德 南 ) , Hassan Hasaa’Ree Ali, Mohammad Farihan Bin Bahron, Prempathi D/O Mahalingam and Tania de Rozario are among the accomplished alumni, who have continued to write and be published following the exposure from GPA. Jeremy Tiang, 2009’s 1st-prize winner for the English Short Story category, is now a full-time writer and translator. His short story collection, It Never Rains on National Day (2015), was shortlisted for the 2016 Singapore Literature Prize. Denon Lim, 2003’s 1st-prize winner in the Chinese Poetry category, has published numerous collections, among them Meng Jian Shi ( 见诗), which was shortlisted for the 2006 Singapore Literature Prize. He is currently the president of the Singapore Association of Writers. Premapathi D/O Mahalingam, who won the 3rd prize in the Tamil Poetry category in 2013, had her works published in the anthology Singapoor Kurunaavalgal (Singapore Novellas) this year. Past winner Hassan Hasaa’Ree Ali’s first short story collection entitled Selamat Malam Caesar (Goodnight Caesar) was shortlisted for the 2014 Singapore Literature Prize. He published his second short story collection Souvenir Dari Angkasa Lepas (Souvenir from Space) in 2016. He was the 3rd-prize winner and 1st-prize winner of the Malay Short Story category in 2007 and 2011 respectively. Mohammad Farihan Bin Bahron who was the 1st-prize winner for both Malay Poetry and Malay Short Story categories in the 2015 edition of GPA, went on to win the 3rd prize of Mencari Kristal, the short story writing competition and talent development programme organized by Berita Harian, in collaboration with NAC. Tania de Rozario, the 2011 1st-prize winner in the English Poetry category, was shortlisted for the 2014 Singapore Literature Prize. She has also been published in many journals and anthologies as well as about visual arts, with her most recent commission covering the local and Southeast Asian collections of the National Gallery Singapore.

The submission form is available for download from The physical forms can be picked up from The Arts House and various locations in Singapore from 3 May 2017.

To help prepare for the submissions, award-winning and established writers, including past winners Chow Teck Seng and Yazid Hussein, will conduct public workshops in May to help participants refine their works for submission.

The results will be announced at the awards ceremony held on 7 November 2017, in conjunction with the Singapore Writers Festival 2017.

Please refer to Annex A for the GPA 2017 Factsheet and Annex B for GPA 2017 Workshops’ Details.

For more details: Download media release


For more information, please contact:

Willy Beh
Asst Manager, Marketing & Communications
Arts House Limited
T: +65 6435 0113
M: +65 9841 9794

Bernadette Yew
Asst Director, Marketing & Communications Arts House Limited
T: +65 6332 6901
M: +65 9793 3140



T: +65 6332 6900 / F: +65 6336 3021 / E:
1 Old Parliament Lane Singapore 179429